800 Roosevelt Rd, Bldg C- 312
Glen Ellyn, IL 60137
P 708-236-3411
F 708-449-0837

NFCA Handbook of Fireproofing Knowledge

NFCA Handbook of Fireproofing Knowledge is your resource to prepare for the NFCA SFRM and or IFRM Fireproofing Exams, which lead to DRI status for NFCA's Contractor Accreditation Program and UL's Qualified SFRM Contractor Program, and for Special Inspection Agencies to prove fireproofing competency. As a service to the industry, NFCA provides FREE PDF copies of the NFCA Handbook of Fireproofing Knowledge to authority having jurisdiction, municipalities, specifiers with design firms, architects with design firms and governmental organizations.


NFCA Contractor Accreditation Program

When it comes to life safety, you can’t afford not to use an NFCA Accredited Contractor

The Contractor Accreditation Program was created by NFCA to improve the quality and accuracy of installing Spray-Applied Fire Resistive Materials (SFRM) and Intumescent Fire Resistive Materials (IFRM) by contractors. 

NFCA SFRM Accredited Contractors

NFCA IFRM Accredited Contractors

The key components of this program are:


Contractor Qualification

Contractor must be a member of NFCA and have at least two years of experience installing products, must have completed installation of at least 20 projects, must have certification stating that the contractor has received product training by a product supplier, and has been installing that supplier’s product for at least two years.

Designated Training

Attend the NFCA Fireproofing Education for the NFCA Contractor Accreditation Program, in SFRM and or IFRM, that covers the details of the UL design procedures, code compliance procedures, beam substitution procedures, thickness adjustment procedures, priming requirements, UL global design issues, NFCA applications and quality control standards, and ASTM standards relevant to the industry. NFCA will announce opportunities to attend the 2021 NFCA Fireproofing Education soon.

Individual Examination

Pass an extensive examination conducted by NFCA to confirm the contractor’s representative has become skilled with all the subject matter of the training program. Upon receiving a minimum passing score of 80%, the tested individual will become the contractor’s Designated Responsible Individual (DRI). The contactor must have paid all associated Program Fees and signed the NFCA License Agreement.

Continuous Contractor Education

The accredited contractor’s DRI must obtain ten (10) Continuing Educational Units (CEU's) a year, or a total of 30 CEU's over three years. One hour equals one CEU. The education must be related to the industry, and a certificate of completion must be provided to the NFCA as verification that the contractor has fulfilled its annual training requirements.

NFCA Seal of Accreditation

Once the contractor meets all of the requirements of the NFCA accreditation program, they will receive either an SFRM or IFRM seal to confirm that they are in compliance with the CAP and a knowledgeable fireproofing contractor.